Thursday, 2 August 2012

Deepika Padukone to receive Smita Patil Memorial Award

The biennial Smita Patil Memorial Award goes to Bollywood actor Deepika Padukone this year. The award is instituted by Priyadarshni Academy. She would be presented with the honor at the 28th anniversary global awards function of the Priyadarshni Academy on September 18 in Mumbai.
The awards shall be presented by Union Health and Family Welfare Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad, Maharashtra Assembly Speaker Dilip WalseinPatil and state Food and Civil Supplies Minister Anil Deshmukh in a glittering function.
Earlier the biennial Smita Patil Memorial Award had been awarded to Vidya Balan in 2010, Priety Zinta in 2008, Kareena Kapoor in 2006, Urmila Matondkar in 2004, Karisma Kapoor in 2002, Aishwarya Rai in 2000, Tabu in 1998, Madhuri Dixit in 1996, Manisha Koirala in 1994 and Meenakshi Sheshadri in 1993.
Chairman Nanik Rupani has intimated that the other recipients of the award are - Dr Samir Brahmachari, Director General, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research for outstanding contribution to science-led comprehensive innovation, Nirj Deva, Member of European Parliament for outstanding contribution to international development, HDFC Managing Director Aditya Puri for outstanding contribution as a "visionary leader in banking industry", Dr Jacques Rogozinski of InterinAmerican Investment Corporation, USA for outstanding contribution to economic development leveraging on small and medium enterprises, Milind Deora for his induction in the Union Cabinet as a Minister of State for Communication and IT and Piyush Goyal for his appointment as a member of Rajya Sabha.
Renowned Industrialist Kumar Mangalam Birla would also be honored with Harish Mahindra Memorial Global Award on the same occasion for his outstanding contribution to "globalization of Indian industry".

Source: Press Trust of India
Photo: Google

No comments:

Post a Comment